Virginia and Maryland Traffic Laws: You might Not Know About

Driving on the roads of Virginia and Maryland states can be a challenging task, particularly if you are not aware of all the traffic laws and rules of these states. It is crucial to understand the traffic laws to ensure your safety and not be pulled over by receiving traffic tickets and fines. These laws are designed to provide smooth traffic flow and keep drivers safe. While most of the drivers are familiar with the basic rules of the road to be followed, not all drivers are informed about the lesser-known laws in Virginia and Maryland. The Law Offices Of SRIS.P.C. in Virginia has a team of well-knowledgeable Traffic Attorneys who handle all traffic violation cases. In this blog, we will explore some of the traffic laws of both states you might not know about.

Traffic laws of Virginia 

1. Smoking is restricted in cars with minors

Smoking in a car with a child is considered an illegal act in Virginia. This law is enacted to protect children from the hazards caused due to secondhand smoke. So it is not encouraged to smoke inside the vehicle when a minor is present. If a driver violates the law, then he may end up with a fine of up to $100.

2. Move Over Law

This law requires drivers in Virginia to slow down or to move over one lane to lower the speed of the vehicle when passing any emergency vehicles with flashing lights. This move-over law applies to ambulances, tow trucks, police vehicles, and fire trucks. If you see a light flashing vehicle, you should move to the left lane of the road. If you fail to do so, you can result in a fine of up to $250.

3. Yield to pedestrians

In Virginia state, traffic laws require the drivers on the road to yield to pedestrians who are crossing the street in an unmarked or marked crosswalk. Drivers should stop and ensure he remains stopped until the people walking through the crosswalk have safely crossed it. Failure to follow this traffic law will get your fines and points on your driving license.

4. Headlights On in Fog or Rain

If it is foggy or raining, the law for drivers is to turn on their headlights when driving in Virginia. This type of law is made to prevent accidents by increasing visibility on the road. If you forgot to turn on the headlights in these conditions it would bring you a fine up to $250.

5.No texting while driving 

Texting while driving is a serious offense and this law is followed to avoid major accidents caused by distracted drivers. Violators can be fined up to $125 for their first offense and if it repeats, the fine can go up to $250 for subsequent offenses.

6. Child safety seats

Children who are below eight years should be protected in a booster seat or child safety seat. This kind of seat is needed depending on the weight and age of the child. If you do not comply with this law, then it can result in a fine of up to $500. 

Schedule a meeting with an experienced Virginia Traffic lawyer to attain a better understanding of the traffic laws in Virginia.

Traffic laws of Maryland

Maryland also follows similar traffic laws to Virginia such as the Move over law, yield to Pedestrians law, headlights in fog or rain law, and no texting while driving law. In addition, some of the traffic laws followed  in Maryland are provided below,

1. Speed limits in School zone

In school zones of Maryland, they have reduced the speed limit up to 20mph, and this limit can vary depending upon the various locations. You should be careful while driving near a school region and if you cross the specific limit in these areas, it may lead to increased points on your license and fines.

2. No U-turns in business districts

It is an offensive activity of making a U-turn in business districts in Maryland state. Taking a U-turn in a high concentration of trade and commercial activity regions such as shopping centers or downtown areas can disrupt the traffic flow. It can get you traffic charges and demerit points.

3. No driving in the left lane

It is a misdemeanor act of driving in the left lane of the roads of Maryland. The left lane is allowed for passing only and anyone driving in this lane can cause congestion and interrupt the traffic flow. Avoid these conditions to get an unnecessary traffic ticket. If you are caught with a traffic offense, hire a Traffic Ticket Attorney in Maryland to build a defense against your traffic violations.

4. Move over to bicycles

According to Maryland law, it is essential to move over when a bicycle passes on the road. The rule is to give at least three feet of space for a bicycle when passing the street. You can slow down to a prudent and reasonable speed to let the bicycle move. Always remember that under the traffic law of Maryland, bicycles have responsibilities and rights as the other vehicles on the road.


Both Virginia and Maryland have strict traffic laws that should be followed by drivers for ensuring traffic-free and safe driving.  Drivers need to be aware of these basic laws to avoid high fines and accidents. Some of the mentioned laws may seem unnecessary or inconvenient, but they are designed for some reasonable situations. For instance, using headlights in inclement weather for enhancing the visibility of the road to avoid accidents.

In addition to these traffic laws, drivers should always prefer safe driving habits such as wearing seatbelts, obeying speed limits, and avoiding distractions. Always be aware of your surroundings while driving to prevent injuries and mishaps. If you need detailed information regarding Virginia and Maryland traffic laws, contact a qualified and skilled Traffic Attorney from The Law Offices Of SRIS.P.C. who can give legal assistance and support related to traffic violations. 

Leave a Comment

Do not miss this experience!

Ask us any questions